All Resources

White Paper: Wi Software Life-Cycle

Below is an excerpt from our most recent white paper written by our Wi (Wholesale Intelligence) Management team. This publication outlines DataScan’s approach to the six core stages of the software development life-cycle (SDLC).



Wi Software Life-Cycle
Michael Hearn, UI/UX Development Manager
Pavel Stanovskyi, Sr. Quality Engineering Manager
Ben Traynor, Sr. Development Manager


In software engineering, the software development life cycle (SDLC), also referred to as the application development life-cycle, is a process for planning, creating, testing, and deploying a software development application. At DataScan, we follow the following six core stages in this cycle:

1) Planning and Requirements Gathering
2) Requirement Analysis
3) Design
4) Development and Implementation
5) Testing
6) Deployment and Delivery

Stage 1 -Planning & Requirements Gathering
The Product Team at DataScan maintains a product backlog, which is a catalog of requests from our Clients, bugs found internal and externally, product roadmap initiatives, technical initiatives, and security findings. Items are pulled from the backlog and prioritized via a process called “Backlog Grooming”. As new items are added, frequent grooming occurs, and priorities shift.

The Product Team will then schedule the prioritized backlog items over our core release versions, which occur twice a year. They will then work to create high-level requirements in the form of use cases and business requirement documents. These items will then be broken down even further into Release Candidates (RCs) based on the requirement analysis to allow short term milestone checkpoints for review and flexibility and agility around unforeseen changes that may be needed…


To read the full version of our Wi Software Life-Cycle white paper, click here.